The Government of Bangladesh

(Bengali: বাংলাদেশ সরকার Bangladesh Sôrkar) is led by the Prime Minister, who selects all the remaining Ministers. The Prime Minister and the other most senior Ministers belong to the supreme decision-making committee, known as the Cabinet.

Progressive gambling laws online is governed by three sets of gaming regulations, one each for local, state, and federal entities. Some states have gaming regulations that go back more than two centuries; other states have yet to address major aspects of the industry at all. Our modern laws on gambling are complex in part because they’ve been developed over the course of several decades. Over that time, technology and society have changed, while our gaming laws (for the most part) have not.

The current Prime Minister is Sheikh Hasina, leader of the Bangladesh Awami League, who was appointed by the President on 6 January 2009 following the General Election on 29 December 2008. Bangladesh Awami League led by her, and its Grand Alliance (a total of 14 parties) won the two-thirds majority numerically the party controls 230 seats out of 299.
The main decision making body of the government, the cabinet is composed of ministers selected by the prime minister and appointed by the president.
Parliament of Bangladesh (2014)
The legislature of Bangladesh is unicameral. The 300 members are elected by universal suffrage at least every 5 years. It consists of 350 members at present. There is universal suffrage for all citizens at the age of 18.
“On 16 May 2004, the Jatiyo Sangsad (the National Parliament) passed the 14th constitutional amendment to reintroduce quotas for women (article 65). The number of seats in parliament is to be raised to 345, 45 (15%) of which will be reserved for women in the next parliament. The seats will be allocated to parties in proportion to their overall share of the vote. This quota system replaces the previous quota law which expired in 2001. Until 2001 a system of reserved seats for women was used, where 30 seats out of 330 were reserved to women (chosen by indirect election by the 300 directly elected MPs). This provision of guaranteeing women reserved seats expired in April 2001. This quota system was first introduced by the 1972 Constitution (originally providing for 15 reserved seats for women, out of 315 seats, for a period of 10 years). In 1978 a presidential proclamation enlarged the number of reserved seats to 30 and extended the period of reservation to 15 years from the date of promulgation of the constitution of the Republic in December 1972. The constitutional provision lapsed in 1987 and was re-incorporated in the constitution by an amendment in 1990 to be effective for 10 years from the first meeting of the legislature next elected. This provision also lapsed in 2001. The Parliament elected in October 2001 does not have reserved seats for women. Women’s groups are lobbying for these seats to become directly elected positions and for the number of reserved seats to be increased.”
The 10th Parliament had its first sitting on January 25, 2009 . Currently there are 350 members of the house of which 50 memberships are reserved for women.
Executive Administration
The executive administrates the country and executes the laws, passed by the legislature. It maintains the internal law and order in the country. It also maintains relationship with foreign countries. It works for defense, liberty and sovereignty of the country.
As head of the state, the president can grant pardon to a man sentenced to death penalty or lessen the punishment. In some cases, it also performs some legislative and judicial functions. The executive on the other hand calculated the income and expenditure of the government. It also performs various public welfare services such as; education, agriculture, establishment of industry, trade & commerce, land reform, tax and revenue collection. Beside this, it also accepts and implements various development projects.
Judicial branch
The highest judiciary body is the Supreme Court. Until recently, Chief Justice and judges were recommended by the Prime Minister and formally appointed by the President. Since 1991, political parties during their tenure in government have initiated the separation of the judiciary from control by the executive branch brought about by amendment of the Constitution of Bangladesh in 1975. The separation by presidential promulgation acts have signed and passed. Acts on the separation of Judiciary Administration, Remuneration, Pay and Leave, etc. have all been completed. The Supreme Court have now judiciary and administrative authority over all lower courts in the country.
Administrative divisions
At the local government level, the country is divided into divisions, districts, subdistricts (Upazila), unions, and villages. The lowest level of local government representative are Local officials of union council those who are elected at the union level election. All larger administrative units are run by members of the civil service.